Blowing off a Little Hot Air, or, My Best Soufflé yet

truffledsouffle 6My favourite thing to make in the kitchen is a soufflé, not just because they are delicious, but because they’re a nice yet not too daunting challenge.  For those of you who haven’t made them before, don’t be frightened. They always turn out in some fashion. They will fall when you are serving them, but this does not affect the flavour. What makes them fun is that a little extra care your soufflé more beautiful and fun to eat.

I used this recipe for a Gruyere and Parmesan Soufflé and followed it fairly carefully, adding some shaved mushroom for flavour. Okay I lied. I used this recipe, but saved too few yolks, so I just added a bit more cheese.

Here are a couple of things I have learned: beat the whites until they are just forming peaks. The best soufflés are beaten by hand with a whisk, or by using a mixer on low-speed. This creates lots of small bubbles that blow the hot air out of the mixture gently.

My soufflé was still a bit giggly when it looked done, so I turned of the oven and let it sit for five minutes.

Bon appétit!

Leave a Reply

